This and That

 This: Being terrorized by my own work: 

Most artist if they are being honest will tell you that some of their work terrifies them while they are trying to execute it. This is mine

Most artist if they are being honest will tell you that some of their work terrifies them while they are trying to execute it. This is mine

Some of you remember this piece, the photo is a section of “Man’s Abandonment of God/God’s Abandonment of Man”, the installation JP MorganChase and the Northern Manhattan Alliance gave me completion funds for, to go from the prototype to the finished prints and the metal.  I still have to engineer the hanging of this 32 part installation and finished the God side of the installation, which is a reflection on to the back panels.  I was counting on my older brother’s help to work out the complex technical issues with this installation.  Of course, I  am now on my own with it.  Everyday I go down to studio and it is sitting in the back work room on the huge work table staring at me.  Like those infernal window panes in the garage last year.  Patiently it awaits me to being on it again.  See the November 17, 2013 Post for where I left off with the installation.

Numbered out of the box

Numbered out of the box

I am totally terrorized by this piece.  I have so many technical issues with it and yet JP MorganChase and Northern Manhattan Alliance would like to see it finished and exhibited to get credit for the huge support they gave me.  Who can blame them.  So here is my New Year’s Resolution, I will uncrate it on the 2nd of 2016 and just start in.  Why am I terrorized by it?  The cibachrome prints on the metal cost $5,000.  So when working on the flip side of the pieces I have to remember not to do anything that will impact the prints on the other side.  This includes covering the prints, making sure there is not a speck of dirt on them, just in case I need to shift them.  A speck of dirt will scratch the print.  So Much Stress.  Okay I Need To Get Over It!  And Just Get On With It.  Who else out there is terrorized by their own work?  Weigh in.

That:  Notes about Last Week’s Post:  

Mea Cuppa to Joan Livingston Guzzetti – who took the shot of my brother Jerry that I posted last week.   I should have listed her as the taker but completely forgot to.  When I was doing the digital photo album for my brother’s service, I asked her to send me photos. For those of you who don’t know, Joan’s sister, Sandy was married to my brother and Joan and I went through high school together.  Ok she forgives me because we were young and frivolous once, together.

As to the post, unfortunately all people posted on Facebook rather than the blog.  Okay out there on Facebook, you are supposed to click the link that posts on Facebook and come to the blog.  I linked my blog to my Facebook page, I thought it would just post the link, but apparently it picks up the first paragraph or two and photos and then pastes the link.

It was a great discussion on Facebook about time and photographs.  Most weighed in on the perception side, but all my artist and science friends weighed in on the “we don’t get time.”  There is nothing in the realm of physics that would actually prevent time from being simultaneous but perceived by humans as linear and likewise nothing to prevent it from flowing both ways.  Think about stars, some of them no longer exist but we still see them because the light is traveling to us.  I also received a lot of personal emails with intense discussions the subject of time and what happens to photography.  You can all always email – leonejean@aol.com.

NEXT WEEK:  RELIGION AND ART

About J. Leone

I am a working artist. The medium I work in is photography. When we had real news in this country I used to do news and photography. In 1983 the news divisions were put under entertainment and they started to censor our work. I left that profession that year.
This entry was posted in Art, installation art, New Art Project, New Art Work, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.